Scientific program for AES-2015

Intl Symposium on Reducing Earthquake Losses and 4th Annual convention on Advances in
Earthquake Science-2015
January 5-6, 2015 (Venue: Ahmadabad Management Association auditorium)
5 January, 2015
08:00 – 09:30
09:30 – 11:00
11:00 – 11:15
11:15 – 13:15
13:15 - 14:00
14:00 – 15:30
15:30 - 16:15
Inaugural Function
Chairman: Dr. M. N. Patel, VC, Guj. Univ. Co-Chairman: Dr. Amod Mani Dixit
Reporteur: Dr. Kapil Mohan, ISR
from Kutch Experience”, 15 minutes
2. Prof. B.K. Rastogi, ISR “New results from geotechnical investigations,
seismic hazard assessment and microzonation in Gujarat” 35 minutes
3. Dr. Eng. Matsutaro SEKI, Japan "Current State on Seismic Evaluation,
Seismic Isolation and Vibration control of Buildings in Japan" 40 minutes
4. MN Patel, VC, Guj Univ 15 minutes
5. Dr. C.S. Sanghvi, LD Engg College “Challenges in good earthquake
engineering practice” 15 minutes
Chairman: Prof. Friedemann WENZEL
Co-Chairman: Prof. D.K. Paul
Reporteur: Mr. Santosh Kumar, ISR
1. Mr. Anil Sinha, Vice Chairman, Bihar State Disaster Management
Authority “Initiatives for Earthquake Mitigation in Bihar” 15 minutes
2. Prof. Gian Paolo Cimellaro “Advanced methods for seismic design,
including Seismic base isolation and retrofitting of existing structures”
30 minutes
3. Dr. Susan Hough, USGS, California “Damages due to Tahiti earthquake
and lessons for India” 30 minutes
4. A. Peresan, G.F. Panza, F. Vaccari, F. Romanelli, A. Magrin, From
Trieste Univ., Italy "Neo-deterministic Seismic Hazard Scenarios as
Preventive Tools for a Disaster Resilient Society" 15 minutes
5. Prof. Friedemann WENZEL, Karlsruhe, Germany “Options for Risk
Modelling” 15 minutes.
Panel Discussions
Panel 1: New findings on seismic hazard assessment and seismic
Topics: Geotechnical investigations, soil strength, Expected accelerations,
seismic coefficients, characteristic frequencies, amplifications, attenuation
Moderator: Prof. B.K. Rastogi
(1) Prof. T.G. Sitharam
16:15 - 16:30
16:30 - 17:30
Dr. H.B. Raghvendra, Director General, PDPU
Prof. Friedemann Wenzel, Karlsruhe
Prof. Antonella Peresan, Trieste, Italy
Dr. Susan Hough
Panel Discussions
Panel 2: Challenges in earthquake engineering & earthquake resistant as
well as cost effective new materials
Topics: Structural designing and new methods for earthquake-resistant
constructions, Dynamic Response and soil-structure interaction
Moderator: Prof. N.K.Arora, Structural Engg.
(1) Dr. M.Seki
(2) Prof. C.S.Sanghvi, LD Engg.College
(3) Prof. Paresh Patel, Nirma Univ.
(4) Prof. Gian Paolo Cimellaro
(5) Mr. Anil K.Sinha
6 January, 2015
09:30 - 11:00
11:00 - 11:15
11:15 - 13:00
13:00 – 14:00
14:00 - 15:00
Keynote Lectures
Chairperson: Dr. Susan Hough,
Co-Chairman: Prof. TG Sitharam
Reporteur: Mr. Vasu Pancholi, ISR
1. Prof. Vikram Patel, SVBIT “Design parameters and construction
practices” 15 minutes
2. Prof. T.G. Sitharam, IISc, “Understanding Seismic Hazard and Risk: New
Insights on India’s Earthquake Hazards” 15 minutes
3. Dr. Susan Hough, USGS, California “New Initiatives on coping with
Earthquake Hazard in USA” 15 minutes
4. Dr. Amod Mani Dixit, Nepal, 15 minutes
5. Prof. Pradeep Kumar Ramancharla, IIIT, Hyd “Soil-structure interaction
and dynamic analysis of buildings” 15 minutes
Invited Lectures
Chairman: Prof. Atul Desai, SVNIT
Co-Chairman: Mr. Anand Tatu
Reporteur: Prof. Vikram Patel
1. Prof. K.S. Valdiya “Seismicity in Indian Peninsula: Geodynamic
Perspective” 30 minutes
2. Mr. Anand Tatu, President, GICEA, “Construction Best practices for
Earthquake Resistant Structures” 15 minutes
3. Prof. (Dr.) Indrajit Patel, Anand “Best practices towards earthquake
resistant construction addressing Mass housing Projects” 15 minutes
4. Prof. (Dr.) Atul Desai, Surat "Seismic Response of Different Types of
Cable Stayed Bridges" 15 minutes
5. Mr. Minesh Ratna Tamrakar “Vulnerability assessment of residential
Buildings in Kathmandu Valley and exploration for seismic retrofitting
options” 15 minutes
6. Dr. AJ Shah, SVNIT, Surat, “Earthquake Disaster Management
Performance Evaluation Using Data Envelopment Analysis”, 15 minutes.
Panel Discussions.
Panel 3: Construction best practices: Earthquake resistant structures,
Design parameters, Structural Health Assessment & Retrofitting
Topics for discussions: Common mistakes in structural designing, codes in
different countries, Methods of Structural Health Assessment & Retrofitting
Moderator: Prof. A.S. Arya
Panel Members:
(1) Prof. Vikram M.Patel
(2) Prof. B J Shah, Structural Engg.
(3) Mr. KB Jain, Architect
(4) Prof. Iyer, Architect
15:00 - 16:00
Panel Discussions
Panel 4: Seismic Design Philosophies, BIS code requirements and Framing
of municipal laws for Certification of earthquake resistant designing
Topics for discussions: New ideas on seismic design philosophies, Modifications
required in national codes, framing of municipal laws, certification of earthquake
resistant designing.
Moderator: Prof. D. K. Paul
1. Dr. B.K. Rastogi. DG, ISR
2. Mr. Anand Tatu, President, GECIA
3. Mr. Smith Vyas, Architect
4. Mr. Asim, Structural Consultant
5. Prof. Hemraj Kamdar, Architect
16:00 – 16:15
16:15 – 17:15
Panel Discussions
Panel 5: Issues on Disaster Management
Topics for discussions: Preparedness for rescue of trapped persons,
Communication, Coordination, responsibilities, Chain of command, coping with
fire hazards
Moderators: Dr. P.K. Mishra, Principal Secretary to PM and Ms. Anju Sharma,
Panel Members:
(1) Mr. A.K. Singh, Additional Director General Police
(Admin.), Communication Expert
(2) Commandant R.S. Joon, Nat. Disaster Relief Force
(3) Dr. KS Parikh, Space Application Center, ISRO,
Communication Expert
(4) Wing Commander Dinesh Vaswani
(5) Commandant Diwansh Trivedi
(6) Dr. Amod Mani Dixit
January 7, 2015 (Venue: ISR auditorium)
09:00 – 10:45
10:45 - 11:00
11:00 - 12:00
12:00 - 13:00
7 January, 2015
Presentations by ISES Awardees
Chairman: Dr. Prabhas Pande
Co-Chairman: Dr. JR Kayal
Dr. Prabhas Pande "Active faults and liquefiable zones of Kachchh District: Their
importance in the planning and design of structures"
Tea and Poster session
Invited Lectures
Chairperson: Prof. A. Peresan
Co-Chairman: Mr. AG Chhatre
Reporteur: Dr. Sumer Chopra
1. Dr. Sumer Chopra, MoES, New Delhi “Amplification, frequency and
attenuation characteristics of the Gujarat region- Implications towards seismic
2. Prof. A. Peresan, A. Nekrasova, V.Kossobokov, G.F. Panza "Comparing
seismic hazard maps and real seismicity: a new probabilistic shift away from
seismic hazard reality in Italy?"
13:00 - 14:00
14:00 - 15:00
Invited Lectures/Poster Session
Chairman: Prof. Gian Paolo Cimellaro
Co-Chairman: Mr. RK Mishra
Reporteur: Prof. Pradeep Kumar Ramancharla
1. Mr. A.G. Chhatre “Performance based design of piping systems, cable trays,
ducting and mechanical, electrical, instrumentation & control equipment in
Indian industries based on good and bad performance of the equipment from the
industries which Experienced Earthquake in India” 30 minutes.
2. Mr. R.K. Mishra, BARC, Mumbai, “Development of Engineering Guidelines
Based on Lessons Learnt from Real Life Performances of Industrial Structures,
Systems, and Equipment” 15 minutes
3. Wing Commander Dinesh Vaswani “Issues on Earthquake Disaster
Management” 15 minutes.
4. Commandant Devansh Trivedi, Coast Guard, Gandhinagar, Delivery of
Assistance/Relief Materials to Tsunami Affected Areas – Coast Guard
Tea and Poster session
Concluding Session and Award Ceremony
Chief Guest: Dr. Shailesh Nayak, Secretary, MoES, New Delhi
Guests of Honor: Prof. DK Paul, Prof. MN Patel, Dr. Amod Mani Dixit
15:00 - 16:00
16:00 - 17:30