Board of Directors

Board of Directors
Frank Swan
(Appointed to the Board November 2001)
Frank has worked primarily in the fast moving
consumer goods industry based in Australia, New
Zealand and the UK. He is the former CEO of Cadbury
Schweppes Australia Ltd and is a fellow of the
Institute of Directors (UK) and the Australian Institute
of Directors. Until recently, Frank was Chairman of the
Fosters Group Ltd., a Director of the Commonwealth
Bank and National Foods. Frank holds a Science
Degree from the University of NSW in Sydney.
Fr Kevin Mogg AM,
Episcopal Vicar Social Welfare
(Appointed to the Board October 1991)
Fr Kevin has extensive involvement nationally and locally
in the governance and management of the Church’s social
welfare responses. For more than fifteen years he was a
member of the Australian Catholic Social Justice Council, an
advisory body to the Australian Catholic bishops. He founded
the State Catholic community service peak Catholic Social
Services Victoria. He has qualifications in social work and
criminology. In 2004 he was appointed a Member in the
Order of Australia.
Associate Professor Ruth Webber
(Appointed to the Board July 2003)
Dr Webber is Director of the “Quality of Life and
Social Justice” Flagship Program within the School
of Arts and Sciences at the Australian Catholic
University, (ACU). Ruth has degrees in psychology,
education and sociology. Her research is focussed
on stepfamilies and ‘at risk’ young people. Her
work has been published in a range of areas
including youth spirituality, family breakdown,
stepfamilies, youth violence, substance abuse and
social policy.
Richard Stone OAM KSG
(Appointed to the Board September 2003)
Fr Joe Caddy, Chief Executive Officer
(Appointed October 2004)
Richard has been a corporate governance advisor
since 1995 and until recently worked in Australia for
a major professional services firm. During this time
he has assisted listed companies, private companies,
government entities, family, not-for-profits and faithbased organisations with governance evaluations and
solutions. Previously he was a senior executive with
the Westpac Banking Corporation having worked in all
States and the United Kingdom.
James McGarvey
(Appointed to the Board May 2008)
Fr Joe has a strong background in community service
governance and social policy and regularly advocates for
policies and programs to ensure stronger families and
communities. In 2012 he commenced as Parish Priest at All
Saints Church in Fitzroy. He was the Chair of Catholic Welfare
Australia from 2003-2013, the national peak body of Catholic
Community service providers. In 1993, he completed a
Licentiate in Social Sciences at the Gregorian University in
James is the founding Director of The Agenda
Group, a Melbourne-based public policy and
communications consultancy. He has previously
worked for a range of senior politicians in both
Government and Opposition. James has a Master
of Arts (Professional Communication) from Deakin
University, as well as a Graduate Diploma in Public
Relations, and is a member of the Public Relations
Institute of Australia.
Bernadette Steele
(Appointed to the Board May 2008)
Bernadette works at the Victorian Civil and
Administrative Tribunal as a Senior Member. She
is a former Director of Consumer Affairs (1997 to
2002) and Deputy Secretary in the Department of
Justice. She has also worked as a government lawyer
in legislation, litigation and policy, in various areas
including health, community services and water
resources, and currently holds a position as a member
of the Senate of Australian Catholic University.
Fr Thang Vu
(Appointed to the Board January 2013)
Ms Patricia Quigley
(Appointed to the Board January 2013)
Fr. Thang spent nearly five years in the Finance
industry before he commenced formation for the
priesthood at Corpus Christi College. In 2008, Fr Thang
was ordained to the priesthood for the Archdiocese of
Melbourne and since 2011 has been parish priest at
Catholic Parish of Ivanhoe. Fr Thang holds a Degree in
Accounting from Monash University and a Graduate
Diploma in Computer Science from Victoria University.
Patricia has held various management roles in
State government organisations. For the past 18
years she has worked at the senior executive level
gaining high-level business skills, knowledge and
expertise. Patricia is a member of the Melbourne
Business School Alumni Council and was also on the
leadership committee of the Xavier Social Justice
Network. She has a MBA from Melbourne University.
Mr Kieran Walshe
(Appointed to the Board January 2013)
Mr Terry Healy
(Appointed to the Board January 2013)
Dennis Torpy
(Appointed to the Board April 2014)
Kieran retired from Victoria Police in July 2012
after 44 years of service across a broad range
of policing activities and reaching the rank of
Deputy Commissioner. He has broad experience in
administration, governance, audit and risk and human
resources. Kieran is very focused towards community
service and is currently a board member of the Victoria
Police Blue Ribbon Foundation and the Victorian
Goldfields Railway.
Terry’s various senior roles with both the
Commonwealth and State Governments have ranged
across central agencies, planning and natural resource
management and social policy. He has a strong track
record in whole of government coordination and
organisational and management improvement and has
provided direct advice and support to Ministers and
heads of department.
Dennis has more than 17 years experience across
Catholic and government education sectors, working
with Ministers and executive teams in areas of
engagement and inclusion, wellbeing, disabilities,
student learning and communications. He also spent a
decade in media as a daily print and television journalist
and news producer. He is a member of the Australia
and New Zealand School of Government Alumn and
Victorian Catholic Schools Parent Body . He is responsible
for strategic policy and advice on key wellbeing portfolios
for both CEOM and CECV. He holds an Executive Master of
Public Administration from Melbourne University.