THE UNION REVIEW - Federation of Social Workers

January 2015
Vol: 1 Issue: 1
A publication of the Federation of Social Worker’s IUEIUE-CWA 81381
From the desk of the President
I would like to take this opportunity to thank each and
every member who voted in our last election. I would
especially like to thank those members who
volunteered their time working at the voting tables
and counting the ballots at the union office on election
night. I am looking forward to fulfilling the duties of
president and serving the interests of our members.
Thank you for all the encouragement and support! I
would also like to thank Evelyn Evans for her
Federation of Social Worker’s
Phone: 585-328-7170
Email: [email protected]
[email protected]
740 Driving Park Ave Suite A
Rochester, NY 14613
assistance during the transition period. Please thank
her for the many years of service and dedication she
has given to FSW membership.
In the weeks following the election I met with IUECWA Staff Rep. and the members of our local
negotiations team in order to learn more about
previous negotiations efforts and begin charting our
course going forward. We resumed discussions with
the County in January and continued the talks the
negotiations team had begun in the fall of last year
prior to my taking office.
The Union Review is FSW’s new monthly publication. It
is published by the Executive Board in order to convey all
FSW news, and meeting dates as well as to provide
informative articles for the membership. Please direct all
feedback to Jennifer Hartman FSW Communications
Chair @ [email protected]
As a result of these ongoing discussions we have
finalized a demand for settlement with Monroe County
and will be submitting it for a vote of the general
membership of the union in February. A letter has
been mailed to all members with a copy of the
summary of the demand for all to review. The
The Union Difference
Issue: Member’s time off request denied.
Action: Union Rep. called coordinator and asked for the
denial to be reconsidered.
Result: Supervisor approved the time off request*.
*Please make sure all time off requests are submitted
using the County’s “time off request” form. All denials
of time off should also be on this form and not given
verbally or in the body of an email.
information about the special membership meeting is
also included in that letter and this issue of the
newsletter. Please make sure that your calendar is
clear so that you can attend the meeting and cast your
In Unity,
Chad Kyler, President
“I think organized labor is a necessary part of democracy. Organized labor is the only way to have fair distribution of wealth.” Dolores Huerta
Speak out!
At many meetings of the Monroe County Legislature
members of the Federation of Social Workers speak to
our elected officials about the work we do for the
community, the County, and our neighbors. By doing
so our members convey to County leaders both the
value of the work we do and the impact we have on
the community. By speaking at the legislature’s
meetings our members petition our local leaders for
support in our ongoing effort to obtain a fair contract.
Please consider speaking at the County Legislature
Members of the Federation of Social
Worker’s participating in the “Rally in the
Park” across from 691 St. Paul St. on May
Day 2014
meetings. Call 753-1950 to sign up.
Write or email!
Your County Legislator is YOUR representative and is
available to hear your concerns. The official addresses
and emails of every legislator are available on the
County’s website, please find your representative and
write them about the work we do and ask them for
their support in FSW’s effort to negotiate a fair
Attend union meetings and rallies
The Federation is stronger when our members are
At the May Day 2014 “Rally in the Park”
our members found support in numbers
and from people passing by in their cars.
united in a common cause. The best way to unite with
your co-workers is to attend all union meetings, rallies
and events. “United we bargain, divided we beg”. The
old adage “there is strength in numbers” is especially
true when it comes to organizations like ours which
Important meetings coming up!
(Union meetings are at the union office)
give a voice to workers. Together we can win!
Steward’s Council: 2/3/15, 12:00 pm
Please speak with Stan Clark-Papke the FSW
Mobilization Chair about how you can become more
Membership meeting: 2/5/15, 5:30 pm
Executive Board: 2/17/15, 5:30 pm
News & Views
New Officers of the Federation Sworn In
On January 10 , 2014 these Executive Board officers were sworn in by our IUE-CWA staff representative James Winship;
Chad Kyler – President, Kendall Bell - Grievance Co-Chair, Gloria Johnson – Steward. At the January 20th Executive Board
meeting Chad administered the oath of office to these Executive Board committee chairs: Jennifer Hartman, John Butler,
Brittany Granville, Nathalie Somerzaul-Rivera, Stanley Clark-Papke, Troy Coffie, Jeanne Filipwoski, and Latonya Wilcox.
By The Numbers.
In 2014 the Federation of Social Workers filed 29 grievances total.
FSW and Monroe County were able to reach satisfactory agreements on
many of the grievances before reaching arbitration. Grievances which the
Recent actions of the Executive Board
Cancelled the December
membership meeting
Approved plans for the FSW holiday
Approved the sending of
representatives to the IUE diversity
meeting and the CWA new officers
County and FSW cannot resolve to the satisfaction of both parties are
moved to the arbitration process. There are currently 13 grievances that
are pending arbitration, 7 of these are from 2014. FSW believes these
grievances are violations of the contract and has chosen to pursue
resolution through arbitration. In most cases the IUE-CWA which is the
international union that FSW belongs to pays for the FSW portion of the
arbitration process while Monroe County covers its share of the cost. Of the
13 grievances pending arbitration 11 of them are being paid for by IUE-
Executive Board meetings are held
monthly at the union office
FSW’s Grievance Committee Members
Chad Kyler
Peg Capuano
Kendall Bell
Michelle Alaimo
Bob Way
The Grievance Committee has many
responsibilities including participating in contract
negotiations , assisting in upholding the current
Collective Bargaining Agreement and its
provisions as well as investigating grievances
and representing members during investigatory
CWA with the remaining two being paid for by FSW. More information on
grievances is available in the grievance report which is submitted at each
membership meeting. Your steward and all of the grievance committee
members are also available for your questions and concerns.
Submitted by ~ Michelle Alaimo
Political Action Update
The County Legislature meetings are the second Tuesday of each month.
We need members to attend and sign up to speak at these meetings until
we have a new contract. If you would like to sign up to speak at the
meeting please call the Legislature’s clerk at 753-1950.
As a reminder all 29 seats of the County Legislature are up for election
Using Sick Time (sec. 29.2 of the CBA)
“Sick leave constitutes absence for reasons of
illness, or injury; medical, optical, dental
examinations or treatments”
Sick time may be used by a member in order to
care for their “parents, spouse, children, brother,
sister, grandparents and grandchildren, persons
occupying the position of parent of the employee or
spouse, or any relative who is an actual member of
the employee’s household”
this year. As union members we need to be involved in the campaigns of
pro labor candidates. If you are interested in volunteering for a
campaign, or if you or someone you know is interested in running for
office please call Tammy Beebe at the union office to get started.
Submitted by ~ Tammy Beebe
*If your request for X92 is denied please see a
Union Rep.
The next meeting of Pride at Work will be February 5th, 5:30 pm at the CSEA office on Buffalo Rd. The next meeting
of C.L.U.W (Coalition of Labor Union Women) will be February 24th, 6:00 pm at FSW office on Driving Park Ave.
Workers at the WXXI station will hold an NLRB election on 1/29/15 in order to organize with NABET-CWA – please
call WXXI and let CEO Norm Silverstein know that you support the workers right to form a union!
Important Membership Meeting
February 5th, 2015 @ 5:30 PM at the Union office
Members will review the “Demand for Settlement” with Monroe County
A Secret Ballot vote on the demand will be conducted following the informational portion of
this meeting. Absentee ballots must be requested by 1/29/15 and submitted by 5:00 PM
2/5/15. Please request absentee ballots from John Butler. Completed ballots may be
submitted to any steward or executive board member by 2/5/15, 5:00 PM.
Officers of the Federation of Social Worker’s
St. Paul St.
Maryanne Maher: 6th
Leslie Gordon: 5th,
Rosemarie Pinckney: 4th,
Lasonia Simmons: 3rd,
Frank Hartman: Basement, 1st & 2nd.
Westfall Rd.
Suemarie Lopez: 6th & 7th
Heidi Yandricha: 5th, Visitation, AHCPS
Alma Lucas: 4th & 10th
Gloria Johnson: Basement, 1st, 2nd, & 3rd
Ksenjia Vukelic
Children’s Center.
Bonaventure Banahene
Executive Board Members
President: Chad Kyler
Vice President: Peg Capuano
Grievance: Kendall Bell, Michelle Alaimo, Robert Way
Trustee’s: Julie Garrett, Cyril Waugh
Secretary: Kathleen Gowans
Treasurer: Virginia Baggs
Civil Rights & Equity: Latonya Wilcox
Communications: Jennifer Hartman
Elections: John Butler
Political Action: Tammy Beebe
Mobilization: Stanley Clark-Papke
Organizing: Troy Coffie
Social Action: Brittany Granville
Tamara Marsh
Retiree’s: John Rabbish
Membership: Nathalie Somerzaul-Rivera
Safety & Health: Jeanne Filipwoski
Negotiations: Dan DeLorme (member at-large)