Union Minister Radha Mohan Singh to inaugurate 51st APCC session

नारयल वकास बोड
(कृ ष मंऽालय, भारत सरकार), केरा भवन, कोची – 682 011, भारत
(Ministry of Agriculture, Government of India)
Kera Bhavan, SRVHS Road, Kochi – 682 011, India
Email: [email protected], Web:www.coconutboard.gov.in
फैस Fax : 91-484-2377902
टे िलमाम Telegram:KERABOARD
अ#य$ Chairman : 2375216
मु.ना.व.अ.CCDO : 2375999
िनदे शक Director : 2375237
सिचव Secretary : 2377737
Office : 2376265
Union Minister for Agriculture, Shri. Radha Mohan Singh to inaugurate
51st APCC Session/Ministerial meeting
Honourable Union Minister for Agriculture Shri. Radha Mohan Singh would
inaugurate the 51st Asia Pacific Coconut Community (APCC) Session/Ministerial
meeting, which is scheduled to be held at Hotel Crowne Plaza in Kochi from February
2-5, 2015.
Shri. Sanjeev Chopra IAS, Joint Secretary (MIDH) and APCC Chairman, Ministry of
Agriculture, Government of India would deliver the welcome speech and Mr. Uron N.
Salum, Executive Director, APCC would present an official introduction of the 51st
APCC session/Ministerial meeting. Honourable Member of Parliament, Prof. K.V.
Thomas would deliver the presidential address and Mr. Le Mamea Ropati Mualia,
Honourable Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries, Government of Samoa, would
give the ministerial response on behalf of the visiting ministers and delegates. Mr.
Inia. Seruiratu, Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries & Forests; Rural & Maritime and
Development and National Disaster Management, Government of Fiji, Shri. K. Babu,
Honourable Minister for Fisheries, Ports and Excise, Government of Kerala and Shri
Surendra Nath Tripathi, IAS. Chairman (I/C). Coir Board would also attend the
session. Shri. T.K. Jose IAS, Chairman, Coconut Development Board, Ministry of
Agriculture, Government of India, would deliver the vote of thanks. The inaugural
session on February 2, 2015 would also see the awarding of APCC recognition for the
host country, India. The inaugural session would start at 10.45 a.m. and concludes at
12.45 p.m.
The Asian and Pacific Coconut Community is an intergovernmental organisation
founded in 1969, under the aegis of the United Nations Economic and Social
Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN-ESCAP). It has 18 coconut-producing
member countries, comprising the Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, India,
Indonesia, Kiribati, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Papua New Guinea, Philippines,
Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tonga, Vanuatu and Vietnam as full
members; and Jamaica and Kenya as associate members.
The APCC member countries together account for 90 per cent of the world’s coconut
production and export of coconut products.
India, one of the founder members of APCC, currently holds the Chairmanship of
APCC, which has 18 coconut producing countries. The meeting to be held at Crowne
Plaza in Kochi will review the global coconut situation and hold deliberations on
specific issues in coconut cultivation, processing, marketing and trade so as to evolve
appropriate policy decision for the development of the sector. The session is also
expected to make inroads into the development of trade in coconut and coconut
products between the member countries.
28. 01. 2015
Publicity Officer